Printer Friendly Version
Home About Pension Collective Agreement Bargaining Awards Publications and Newsletters Helpful Links Login Contact

2020 UGFA Teaching Award Winners:


Distinguished Professor Award for Excellence in Teaching


Amanda Boetzkes, College of Arts


Petros Spachos, College of Engineering & Physical Science


David Pearl, Ontario Veterinary College




Distinguished Professor Award for Innovation in Teaching


Andrea Bradford, College of Engineering & Physical Science


Tricia Van Rhijn, College of Social and Applied Human Sciences



Award For Academic Librarianship


Melissa McAfee






UGFA Teaching  & Special Merit Awards


The conferring of UGFA teaching and special merit awards began in 1984 and is intended to provide tangible recognition for excellent contribution towards teaching and learning, broadly defined. Individuals may be nominated for an UGFA teaching  or special merit award on the basis of excellent perfomance in various areas of teaching.

For the history of the UGFA Teaching and Special Merit Award Winnners, please follow the links:

2010 - Present
2000 - 2009
1990 - 1999
1984 - 1989


Academic Librarianship Awards


The first UGFA Award for Academic Librarianship was awarded in 1992 and is intended to provide tangible recognition for excellent contribution toward academic librarianship broadly defined. Individuals may be nominated for this award on the basis of excellent performance in providing to all members of the academic community the fullest possible access to library materials, facilities and information.



For a list of previous winners,click here



UGFA Award for Excellence in Service to Faculty and Librarians


Established in 2003, this award for excellence in service to faculty and librarians is presented by the University of Guelph Faculty Association to recognize and foster outstanding service to faculty members and librarians. The award is not related to a particular accomplishment, but given to honour deserving individuals for distinguished long term service to enhance the careers and working conditions of faculty/librarians at the University of Guelph.Up to one award of service excellence is presented each year to honour the outstanding contributions of an individual who has had a significant impact on faculty and librarians at the University of Guelph. The Award, however, shall not necessarily be given annually, and the decision whether or not to grant the Award in any academic year shall be at the sole discretion of the Awards Committee which is comprised of four members, namely, the UGFA President who shall act as Chair, the UGFA Counsellor and 2 past presidents. The value of the Award is $500.

For a list of previous winners, click here





The Jay Newman Award for Academic Integrity was first awarded in 2009 and honours the memory of Dr. Jay Newman, FRSC, a distinguished member of the University of Guelph Philosophy Department. He was widely known as a fearless and articulate defender of academic freedom. This bienniel award is conferred on a university scholar and teacher who has demonstrated meritorious academic achievement with noteworthy courage or compassion in the defense of academic ideals.


For a list of previous winners, click here



Last Updated November 2019
ugFA © Copyright 2021 University of Guelph Faculty Association. All Rights Reserved. Web Design and Content Management by REM Web Solutions
View Our Blog Unit 2